top of page
Search
Writer's pictureWilmari Muller

CULTURE SHOCKS FOR A SOUTH-AFRICAN COMING TO THE US...

TOOK ME A WHILE BEFORE I REALIZED WHAT CULTURE SHOCK IS!

It's been a longgg time since I posted something on here...let's just say I was busy getting inspiration but here I am with some interesting facts you probably didn't know about!


Oh yes it is so very true, cultural shock IS A THING and if you are an immigrant living in a different country you will experience it sooner than later.

If you google the meaning of culture shock you will get something that sound like "the feeling of disorientation when you move to a new environment etc." and to be very honest I totally disagree with that statement.

In my opinion cultural shock is inevitable and strange yes but it is an amazing experience of the new, the different and the extraordinary of a new country, it's history and it's people.

It is the excitement of trying new food, see new places, experience how people communicate with each other and getting used to everything that is different from home. It is the act of stepping out of you comfort zone to try something new...not disorientating if you ask me.

Yes sure it is overwhelming, but better enjoy and appreciate the new life before you get used to it!

Helen Keller said: " Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all!"

Man I couldn't have said it better than Helen, moving away from home is definitely one big daring adventure so far and yeah sure I do miss home don't get me wrong, I miss having a South-African "BRAAI" on a Friday night with my family, I miss the smell of fresh potatoes and onions shining green under the Bushveld sun and man I miss having "BILTONG and DROëWORS"...BUT I enjoy hearing the American accent in stores, talking about grilling and barbeque, having Mac and Cheese as a side on every menu and see some sort of Pie in every store (hence the few pounds I gained over the past four months).


So here is a few "shocks" I experienced and still do when I first move her:

  • YELLOW SCHOOL BUSSES- oh yeahhh you've guessed it, it is like IN THE MOVIES, early mornings, children waiting in their front yards and then you see it...the big yellow school bus with it's red STOP sign passing through the neighborhood and 4 months later I'm still amazed by it! Oh yes I know you probably think I'm crazy, I mean its just a school bus...but man it's a pretty cool school bus if you're used to Taxi's!


  • SAFETY- safety is walking the dog through the neighborhood without pepper spray, it's going to the grocery store without holding on to your bag so tight that you're fingers hurt, its sleeping sound at night without wondering whether you set the alarm or not...coming from a third world country these are things you learn to appreciate when you come to the US or any other country for that matter!


  • MAC AND CHEESE- now I bet you think I'm kidding you BUT did you know Americans order Mac and Cheese as a side like we would order a side plate of salad or veggies, it is crazy but its true.


  • LEFT HAND DRIVING- BIGGEST challenge ever...might not sound like it and yeah I got it after my 3rd try and believe me I still sometimes walk to the wrong side of the car when taking my host kids to activities and goodness there are still moments that I feel like I'm driving in the wrong lane at the wrong side!


  • PUTTING GAS IN THE CAR...BY YOUR SELF- now see the thing is, it is not that hard but it is ALOT of pressure doing it by yourself for the first time when the gas station is packed, 3 cars wait behind you, you did everything right and then...nothing...like absolutely nothing happened. Which let me standing there for 15 min with no clue what to do next, calling my host mom for help and at the end with way to much embarrassment I drove away...with an empty tank...now that's what I would call a cultural shock!

To be fair, I don't think cultural shock is the right word if it was up to me I would rather call it cultural realization...if that's even a word and if not I just created a new term and you are welcome!



SEE YOU NEXT TIME WITH A NEW UPDATE TO LIFE ABROAD AND MY ROADTRIP TO SOUTH CAROLINA!
ENJOY AND REMEMBER TO LIKE AND SUBSCRIBE ...Wx







73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page